Exercise: Active portrait

Discuss with the subject an activity that they feel comfortable with. Concentrate on the person and the facial expression

For this exercise, I decided to use my husband as a subject as he was available and as he has recently started flying model aeroplanes and we knew that with the concentration required for that would mean that he would very not be aware of me pointing a camera at him. We went to the model club where he flies and as non flyers are not allowed on the field, I took my 100-400 lens so I was able to zoom in and get the facial expression. Unfortunately as he is just in the learning stages, he has a buddy teacher who can get control if required and he was stood at the side of my subject and despite trying different compositions and their positioning in the field, I couldn’t get my subject on his own. I can revisit this in the future once he has more experience in flying.

active portrait

Leave a Reply

