Exercise: Colour Cast and White Balance

aThis exercise was very similar to an exercise that I had done previously within the Art of Photography so I knew how to change the white balance and the different effects that it has.

Find the following outdoor lighting situations, each of which has a different colour temperature

– Sunlight

– Cloudy

– Open shade on a sunny day

– Auto

For each choose a scene or object to photograph and shoot four versions, using each one of the white balance options. In your browser or processing software, compare the results for each scene.

As I’d done the exercise in TAOP, I chose to just do this on one subject under sunlight. I picked the flowers as I thought that the colours would show the differing white balances well with the cream of the wall. Looking at the composition, I like the half curve of the pots turning the image into a more considered composition as I didn’t just want to take any general image.

I set the aperture to f5.0 with the ISO on auto and aperture priority mode.

Auto White Balance

Auto WB

Cloudy White Balance

Cloudy WB

Daylight White Balance

Daylight WB

Shade White Balance

Shade WB

 

For the second part of the exercise, I had to find and shoot a mixed lighting source. One of the most predictably mixed in indoor/outdoor scene at dusk in which the interior is lit by incandescent lighting while the exterior, especially under a clear sky is bluish. I then had to shoot three different versions with the following white balance settings:-

– sunlight

– tungsten/incandescent

– auto

Sunlight

Daylight

 

Tungsten

Tungsten

Auto

Auto

If I had to choose one of the images, I’d pick the auto white balanced image as I feel that its a much more even toned one. The tungsten has given it too much of a blue colouring, and the daylight is second closest but a bit darker than the the auto.

As I shoot with raw, I followed the next step of experimenting with the white balance slider in Photoshop to find a version of white balance that I like.

Auto2

Its a darker image than the auto white balance but has a much warmer tone than the daylight/sunlight white balance but I feel that it balances the warmer colours of the indoor lighting better than the other white balances.

Leave a Reply

