Exercise: Concentrating Light

For this exercise, I had to create a cardboard snoot to place around my chosen light to direct it at specific areas. I rolled up some cardboard into a tube shape, and I was using a handheld LED light, I fitted this into the tube and then taped it in so that it was a complete handheld unit.

I then used the same stool, tripod and camera set up as I’d previously used for the contrast and shadow fill exercise. I created a small still life comprising of a TARDIS model and Dr Who figure, and then took a number of images directing the light in different areas

Image 1 is just of the subject with normal light

CL 1 Subject with normal room light

Image 2 – I directed light into the middle of the subject

CL 2 Directed light middle of subject

Image 3-  Directed Light to the right of the subject

CL 3 directed light right of subject

Image 4- Directed light on specific area

CL 4 Directed light on specific area

Image 5- Directed light from different side angle

CL 5 light from different side angle

Image 6- I directed the light from above downwards onto the subject

CL 6 Light shining down from directly above

Leave a Reply

