Exercise : Panning with different shutter speeds

For this exercise i decided to go to a local wildlife and wetlands trust site, Martin Mere where there was a wide range of birds to use as subjects. While I usually prefer my images to be very sharp and to freeze the action, I found that the series I preferred were the ones with the slower shutter speeds as they gave me something totally different.

While I think more practice is needed, I liked the blurring of the subject, the water of the mere and the other birds that were in the background.

The two images that stand out are images 19 and 21. Image 19 was taken at a shutter speed of 0.5 and show the gull landing, catching the ‘finger’ effect of the feathers on its wing.

Panning-19

Image 21 captures 3 swans in flight, turning two of them to abstract shapes. This was taken at a shutter speed of 0.5 sec too

Panning-20

Leave a Reply

