Exercise : Focus with a set aperture

I was undertaking this on a winters evening and as I was keen to progress, I looked into what indoor options I had. I tried a number of different compositions but eventually settled in books and bookends to give the distance needed.

For image one I focused on the bookend, then the second image in the middle of the frame was of the top of the books, and the final image was the last book in the row.

From printing the images, you certainly realise that the focusing really draws the eye into one specific point. After reviewing the images, I prefer the first one, where the focus is directly at the front on the bookend. I prefer it as it just seems to grab the eye and leads it in, then the unfocused line of the books makes the sharp image even stronger.

.

Leave a Reply

